Applying For BA English Honours Course? Know About The CBCS Syllabi

Applying For BA English Honours Course? Know About The CBCS Syllabi

With the undergraduate admission process for the new academic session starting within a few weeks, are you on the lookout for top universities in West Bengal? Do you wish to pursue BA English Honours Course from a good college? Knowing about the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) proposed by the University Grants Commission (UGC) can help you in preparing for a prosperous career!

Over the years, the UGC has taken several important measures for improving the academic standards and quality of education in the higher education system. Some of these improvements include: betterment in the teaching-learning process, curriculum, examination pattern and assessment of answer scripts. However, the need for a ‘learner-centric’ approach has been seen in the education system has long been felt by educators. And, it is due to this reason that the UGC recently proposed the choice-based credit system (CBCS).


About The CBCS Curriculum

The Choice Based Credit System is a programme in which undergraduate students have the choice to select from the prescribed courses that are referred to as elective, core or soft skill courses. Students opting for these skill-based courses are evaluated on the basis of grades. The UGC has devised these guidelines to bring standardization in the computation and assessment system of the CGPA. 


Difference Between CU & Other Universities

From the 2018 academic session, it is mandatory for every recognised university to adopt the CBCS syllabi proposed by the UGC to get the degrees offered by them recognised in the pan-India higher education system. Universities need to include at least 80% of the proposed syllabus in their curriculum. However, each and every university enjoys the right to deviate 20% from the syllabus and the University of Calcutta (CU) is one of the first universities to grab this opportunity. However, WBSU, BU and KU are following the almost the same syllabus proposed by the UGC.


Structure Of The B.A. English Honours Under The CBCS As Followed By CU 


(Only the part mentioned below is different from other universities like WBSU, BU, KU etc )


CC1:  History Of Indian Classical Literature 


(The part mentioned  below  is more or less common for all universities 

CC2: European Classical Literature

CC3: Indian Writing in English

CC4: British Poetry & Drama- 14th – 17th Century

CC5: American Literature

CC6: Popular Literature                                                                                

CC7: British Poetry & Drama- 17th and 18th Century

CC8: British Literature- 18th Century

CC9: British Romantic Literature

CC10: British Literature- 19th Century

CC11: Women’s Writing

CC12: British Literature- Early 20th Century

CC13: Modern European Drama

CC14: Postcolonial Literature


NoteCC is the abbreviation for ‘Core Course’ which was earlier known as a 100-marks paper. That is to say, students have to study all 14 papers which equal to 1400 marks.


CC (Core Course) 14 courses/ papers           14× 100= 1400 marks
GE (GENERIC ELECTIVE, from Other Subjects) 4 courses/ papers 4× 100= 400 marks 
DCE (DISCIPLINE CENTRIC ELECTIVE) or DSE (Discipline Specific Elective) 4 courses/ papers 4× 100= 400 marks 
AECC (ABILITY ENHANCEMENT COMPULSORY COURSE) 2 courses/ papers 2×100= 200 marks
SEC (Skill Enhancement Course) 2 courses/ papers 2×100= 200 marks
Total 26 courses/ papers 26×100= 2600 marks


Why is New Vistas best for CBCS Syllabus?

In the CBCS framework, the CCs (Core Courses) are covered by specialization in the fields identified with English Literature. Along with CCs, a few different fields are presented in the new syllabi which demand specialization in the fields that are not exactly identified with the English writing. The fields which require specialization other than that of English literature are - Philology, Prosody, Linguistics, Phonetics, Modern Grammar, ELT and Creative Writing. To speak of philology, the field demands the comprehension of Indo European Languages like Ancient Greek, Latin, French, German and Sanskrit, and alongside these, a noteworthy comprehension of Phonetics and Linguistics. These specific fields are incorporated into DCE (Discipline Centric Elective) or DSE (Discipline Specific Elective), AECC (Ability Enhancement Compulsory Course) and SEC (Skill Enhancement Course) or AEEC (Ability Enhancement Elective Course). At New Vistas, each of these courses is conducted by P Das, who is an academic having specialization in all the areas mentioned above.

Leave a Reply